

Richland County Council Regular Session **MINUTES** January 2, 2024 – 6:00 PM Council Chambers 2020 Hampton Street, Columbia, SC 29204

COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT: Jesica Mackey, Chair; Derrek Pugh, Vice-Chair; Jason Branham, Yvonne McBride, Paul Livingston, Allison Terracio, Don Weaver, Gretchen Barron, Overture Walker, Cheryl English, and Chakisse Newton

OTHERS PRESENT: Kyle Holsclaw, Michelle Onley, Ashiya Myers, Lori Thomas, Leonardo Brown, Patrick Wright, Anette Kirylo, Aric Jensen, Angela Weathersby, Abhijit Deshpande, Susan O'Cain, Andrew Haworth, Thomas Gilbert, Wayne Thornley, Ashley Fullerton, Dale Welch, Sandra Haynes, Michael Maloney, Judy Carter, Jennifer Wladischkin, Tamar Black, and Stacey Hamm

- 1. **<u>CALL TO ORDER</u>** Chairman Overture Walker called the meeting to order at approximately 6:00 PM.
- 2. **INVOCATION** Pastor Ed Stewart led the Invocation on behalf of the Honorable Overture Walker.
- 3. **<u>PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE</u>** The Honorable Overture Walker led the Pledge of Allegiance.

4 APPROVAL OF MINUTES

a. <u>Special Called Meeting: December 12, 2023</u> – Ms. Barron moved to approve the minutes as submitted, seconded by Ms. McBride.

In Favor: Branham, Pugh, McBride, Livingston, Terracio, Weaver, Barron, Walker, Mackey, English, and Newton

The vote in favor was unanimous.

b. <u>Zoning Public Hearing: December 14, 2023</u> – Ms. Newton moved to approve the minutes as submitted, seconded by Ms. Terracio.

In Favor: Branham, Pugh, McBride, Livingston, Terracio, Weaver, Barron, Walker, Mackey, English, and Newton

The vote in favor was unanimous.

5. <u>ADOPTION OF AGENDA</u> – County Attorney Patrick Wright requested to remove Item 9(a): "Executive Session: Operating Expense Accounts" from the agenda.

Mr. Pugh moved to adopt the agenda as amended, seconded by Ms. Barron.

In Favor: Branham, Pugh, McBride, Livingston

The vote in favor was unanimous.

Regular Session Meeting Minutes January 2, 2024 -1**POINT OF PERSONAL PRIVILEGE** – Mr. Walker thanked his colleagues for their confidence in him and for allowing him to serve as Council Chair. He extended a special thanks to Ms. Mackey, Vice-Chair, for her unwavering support. He presented Ms. Mackey with a token of his appreciation.

Mr. Pugh, Ms. English, and Ms. McBride expressed their appreciation for Mr. Walker and Ms. Mackey's outstanding job as Chair and Vice-Chair, respectively.

6. ELECTION OF CHAIR

Mr. Livingston moved to nominate Ms. Mackey for the position of Chair, seconded by Ms. Terracio.

The floor for nominations was closed.

In Favor: Branham, Pugh, McBride, Livingston, Terracio, Weaver, Barron, Walker, Mackey, English, and Newton

The vote in favor was unanimous.

Ms. Mackey thanked her colleagues for their overwhelming support.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

7.

Ms. English moved to nominate Mr. Pugh for the position of Vice-Chair, seconded by Ms. Barron.

The floor for nominations was closed.

In Favor: Branham, Pugh, McBride, Livingston, Terracio, Weaver, Barron, Walker, Mackey, English, and Newton

The vote in favor was unanimous.

Mr. Pugh thanked his colleagues for supporting him for the position of Vice-Chair.

8. SELECTION OF SEATS

- 1. Cheryl English
- 2. Jason Branham
- 3. Gretchen Barron
- 4. Yvonne McBride
- 5. Derrek Pugh
- 6. Jesica Mackey
- 7. Paul Livingston
- 8. Overture Walker
- 9. Don Weaver
- 10. Allison Terracio
- 11. Chakisse Newton

9 OTHER ITEMS

- a. FY24 District 1 Hospitality Tax Allocations (Capital City Lake Murray Country \$10,000)
- b. FY24 District 5 Hospitality Tax Allocations (Columbia Museum of Art \$10,000)
- c. FY24 District 6 Hospitality Tax Allocations (SC Philharmonic \$5,000)
- d. FY24 District 9 Hospitality Tax Allocations (Pink & Green Community Service Foundation \$5,000)

Ms. Newton moved to approve Items 9(a) - 9(d), seconded by Ms. McBride.

In Favor: Branham, Pugh, McBride, Livingston, Terracio, Weaver, Barron, Walker, Mackey, English, and Newton

Regular Session Meeting Minutes January 2, 2024 -2The vote in favor was unanimous.

Ms. Barron moved to reconsider Items 9(a) – 9(d), seconded by Ms. Terracio.

Opposed: Branham, Pugh, McBride, Livingston, Terracio, Weaver, Barron, Walker, Mackey, English, and Newton

The motion for reconsideration failed.

POINT OF PERSONAL PRIVILEGE – Ms. Mackey and the Clerk of Council, Anette Kirylo, presented Mr. Walker with tokens of their appreciation for his service as Council Chair.

10. **<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>** – Ms. Barron moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Ms. Newton.

In Favor: Branham, Pugh, McBride, Livingston, Terracio, Weaver, Barron, Walker, Mackey, English, and Newton

The vote in favor was unanimous.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 6:19 PM.

Regular Session Meeting Minutes January 2, 2024 -3-