

## Richland County Council Special Called MINUTES

January 2, 2025 – 6:00 PM Council Chambers 2020 Hampton Street, Columbia, SC 29204

COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT: Jesica Mackey, Chair; Derrek Pugh, Vice-Chair; Jason Branham, Tyra Little, Paul Livingston, Don Weaver, Gretchen Barron, Tish Dozier-Alleyne, Cheryl English, and Chakisse Newton

NOT PRESENT: Allison Terracio

OTHERS PRESENT: Leonardo Brown, Anette Kirylo, Patrick Wright, Jennifer Wladischkin, Aric Jensen, Kyle Holsclaw, Tamar Black, Ashley Fullerton, Michelle Onley, Angela Weathersby, Stacey Hamm, Lori Thomas, Kenny Bowen, Jackie Hancock, Sarah Harris, Andy Haworth, and Phillip Harris

- 1. **CALL TO ORDER** Chairwoman Jesica Mackey called the meeting to order at approximately 6:00 PM.
- 2. **INVOCATION** The Invocation was led by the Honorable Cheryl English.
- 3. **PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE** The Pledge of Allegiance was led by the Honorable Jesica Mackey.
- 4. **ADOPTION OF AGENDA** Ms. Newton moved to adopt the agenda as published, seconded by Mr. Livingston.

In Favor: Branham, Pugh, Little, Livingston, Weaver, Barron, Alleyne, Mackey, English, and Newton

Not Present: Terracio

The vote in favor was unanimous.

## 5. **ELECTION OF CHAIR**

a. Ms. English moved to nominate Ms. Mackey for the position of Chair, seconded by Mr. Livingston.

In Favor: Branham, Pugh, Little, Livingston, Weaver, Barron, Alleyne, Mackey, English, and Newton

Not Present: Terracio

The vote in favor was unanimous.

## 6. **ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR**

a. Mr. Weaver moved to nominate Mr. Pugh for the position of Vice-Chair, seconded by Ms. Barron.

In Favor: Branham, Pugh, Little, Livingston, Weaver, Barron, Alleyne, Mackey, English, and Newton

Not Present: Terracio

The vote in favor was unanimous.

## 7. **SELECTION OF SEATS**

a. As per Council Rule 3.1 – Seating, at the first regular or special called meeting in January, Council members shall select their seats based first on seniority in years of continuous service and then in alphabetical order.

Order of seats selected from left to right:

- English
  Alleyne
  Branham
  Barron
  Pugh
  Mackey
  Livingston
  Little
  Weaver
  Terracio
  Newton

- 8. **ADJOURNMENT** – Ms. Barron moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Ms. Newton.

In Favor: Branham, Pugh, Little, Livingston, Weaver, Barron, Alleyne, Mackey, English, and Newton

Not Present: Terracio

The vote in favor was unanimous.

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 6:09 PM.