Richland County Airport Commission Jim Hamilton – LB Owens Airport (CUB) Richland County Department of Public Works Columbia, South Carolina



Meeting Minutes January 9, 2023 – 12:00 Noon

Commission Members in attendance

John Parrish, Chairman Mike Kelly, Vice Chairman Prentiss McLaurin, Secretary Kaela Bailey Louis Dessau Lynn Hutto Michael Medsker

Richland County Staff in attendance

Michael Maloney, PE, Director of Public Works Chris Eversmann, PE, AAE, Airport General Manager Cassandra Cannon, Administrative Coordinator

Visitors in attendance

Peggy Roberson, Eagle Aviation Lee Thomas, Eagle Aviation Dr Christopher Yeakel, MD, AME Ryan Turiak, AMS Columbia Andy Busbee, PE, Michael Baker

Encl: (1) Airport General Manager's PowerPoint Presentation

<u>Call to Order, Welcome, and Invocation</u> – <u>Chairman Parrish</u> called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m. and announced a quorum in attendance. **Vice Chairman Kelly** delivered the invocation.

Richland County Airport Commission Jim Hamilton – LB Owens Airport (CUB) Richland County Department of Public Works Columbia, South Carolina

Dr Chris Yeakel, MD was introduced and will be providing Aviation Medical Examination Services.

Mr Ryan Turiak was also introduced. He has purchased Aircraft Maintenance Services (AMS), Columbia and will continue to operate the FAA Certificated Aircraft Repair Station in the Maintenance Hangar.

The Airport Commission warmly welcomed these gentlemen to the CUB Airport Community.

<u>Report of Items for Executive Session</u> – **Vice Chairman Kelly** reported that there were no items for Executive Session.

<u>Approval of Agenda</u> – Chairman Parrish presented the agenda as distributed. Commissioner Medsker made a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Commissioner Hutto seconded the motion, and all voted for approval.

<u>Approval of Minutes</u> – Chairman Parrish presented the minutes of the July 11, 2022 Airport Commission meeting for approval. Commissioner Medsker made a motion to approve the minutes as presented. Commissioner McLaurin seconded the motion, and all voted for approval.

Election of Officers for Calendar Year 2023 – There were no nominations from the floor. The following slate of Officers was elected by acclamation for Calendar Year 2023:

→ Chairman Michael Kelly
→ Vice Chairman Michael Medsker

→ Secretary Lynn Hutto

→ Treasurer **Prentiss McLaurin**

Chairman Kelly assumed his post and presided over the remainder of the meeting.

Chairman's Report / Executive Committee Report – There was no report provided.

Operations & Facilities Committee – There was no report provided.

Promotional Committee - Commissioner Medsker reported on the following:

→ The following named will be attending the annual SCAA conference in Spartanburg during February: Commissioner Kelly, Commissioner Hutto, Commissioner Medsker, and Mr Eversmann.

Richland County Airport Commission Jim Hamilton – LB Owens Airport (CUB) Richland County Department of Public Works Columbia, South Carolina

→ The Promotional Committee is actively working to establish partnerships with area colleges and also Edventure (museums).

<u>Airport General Manager's Report</u> – A copy of **Mr Eversmann's** PowerPoint presentation is contained in **enclosure** (1).

County Liaison's Report – There was no report provided.

Unfinished Business – There was no unfinished business.

Executive Session – There was no executive session.

Adjournment – The meeting adjourned at 12:55 p.m.

Next Meeting – The next meeting of the Airport Commission will occur on Monday, March 13, 2023 at 12:00 Noon.